- ProQuest Open Dissertations, Proquest's open access dissertations and theses
- Open Thesis, a place where authors can upload their thesis or dissertation.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes 2,830 business periodicals, with 1,850 available in full text, including Wall Street Journal 1984+ , will also search for dissertations and theses in Proquest collections.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) Plus with Full Text
The definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals with access to the top nursing and allied health journals. Includes full text for more than 1,300 journal titles with indexing for more than 5,000 journal titles. Covers more than 50 nursing specialties, speech language pathology, and nutrition. Also contains continuing education modules, evidence-based care sheets, and research instruments.
- Health Source-Nursing/Academic Edition
provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on nursing and allied health literature. It covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more
- PubMed @ Bradley
The BU version of PubMed has links to BU's online journals.
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library provides "high quality evidence for health care decision making" using criteria for conducting its systematic reviews. Within Cochrane Library, there are six databases containing evidence or reviews of healthcare and health policy:
1966+. Journal articles and reports on education topics.
- APA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue OWL
This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult thePublication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).
- APA Style (from American Psychological Association)
Help with APA style from the publishers of the book, American Psychological Association. It includes tutorials which can be found under the learning APA style tab, and quick answers to questions on formatting.
- APA Style Blog. Searchable blog on APA. Great place to look for specific questions about APA.
- Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality review all relevant scientific literature on clinical, behavioral, and organization and financing topics to produce evidence reports and technology assessments. The reports are about clinical, health care service, and technical topics.
- ECRI Guidelines Trust. You must register, but it's for free.
Science/Health Sciences Librarian
- Top tips for doing your literature review!, an article from Nursing Times
- Undertaking a literature review: A step-by-step approach by Patrica Cronin, Frances Ryan, and Michael Coughlan, article from BJN, here’s a link to open access copy.
- Understanding nursing research: building an evidence-based practice
- Writing for publication in nursing and healthcare
- Introduction to nursing research: incorporating evidence-based practice
- An Introduction to Evidence-based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare
- Research Instruments from the Stanford Patient Education Research Center
- UIC College of Nursing—Instrument Bank Tables
- Medal.org, free scales, assessment and instruments, need to set up an account but it’s free.