Article Databases
  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
    The definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals with access to the top nursing and allied health journals. Includes full text for more than 1,300 journal titles with indexing for more than 5,000 journal titles. Covers more than 50 nursing specialties, speech language pathology, and nutrition. Also contains continuing education modules, evidence-based care sheets, and research instruments.
  • Cochrane Library Unrestricted Resource

    The Cochrane Library provides "high quality evidence for health care decision making" using criteria for conducting its systematic reviews. Within Cochrane Library, there are six databases containing evidence or reviews of healthcare and health policy: 

  • Health Source-Consumer Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
     provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, current, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books and covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
  • Health Source-Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource
    provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on nursing and allied health literature. It covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more
  • PubMed @ Bradley Unrestricted Resource
    The BU version of PubMed has links to BU's online journals.
  • SPORT Discus Restricted Resource
    1949+. International index of sports literature. Maximum 4 simultaneous users. Please try later if busy.
Visible Body

Visible Body is a 3D educational anatomy too. It works on computers and apps are available for both android and I-phone devices. 
Streaming Videos
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video Restricted Resource
Video collection from Alexander Street Press.  Requires BUNetID and password off campus.
Your Subject Librarian
Megan Jaskowiak
Science/Health Sciences Librarian
Email:mjaskowiak@bradley.edu
Phone:309-677-2838
Office:Library 110

Skype:Bradleyhealthsciencelibrarian
Selected Webpages
Associations  Useful Open Access Websites
  • Medline Plus is an online information service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine. The service provides curated consumer health information in English and Spanish.
  • OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.  To find a copy of complete articles, copy and paste the article’s title into Google Scholar.
  • PEDro is a free database of over 34,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
  • Rehabilitation Measures Database was developed to assist clinicians and researchers to identify reliable and valid instruments used to assess patient outcomes during all phases of rehabilitation.
  • REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation.
AMA Help
Zotero
In Text Citations Rules
  • Reference are numbered in consecutive order
  • Use superscript Arabic numbers
  • Superscript is inserted as follows:
    • Immediately next to the fact, idea or quotation being cited. 
      • Ex. This drug is used to treat hepatitis.1
    • Outside periods and commas.
      • Ex. Storing latex at high heat may cause degradation, 2,3-5,7 but it is difficult to keep materials cool in a desert environment.
    • Inside colons and semi-colons.
      • Ex. Some physicians choose to store prescription pads in locked cabinets 8; others keep them in their coats at all times. 9
    • When more than 2 references are cited at a given place in the manuscript, use hyphens to join the first and last numbers of a closed series; use commas without space to separate other parts of a multiple citation. 
      • Ex. As reported previously,1,4-7,19,24
AMA Patterns to Follow
BOOK WITH ONE AUTHOR
Author AA. Title of Book. City, State Abbreviation: Publisher;YYYY.
 
BOOK WITH TWO OR MORE AUTHORS
Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Title of Book. City, State Abbreviation: Publisher;YYYY.
 
E-BOOK
Author AA. Chapter title. In: Editors. Title of electronic book. Based on:[ Edition number, if it is the second edition or above]. edition. Location: Publisher; date. URL. Accessed date.
 
CHAPTER IN EDITED BOOK
Author AA, Author BB. Chapter title. In: Editor A, ed. Title of Work. Location: Publisher; date: pages.
 
ARTICLE (WITH DOI)
Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Title of article. Journal Abbreviation. YYY;Vol(Iss):pg #. doi: xxx.xxxx.xxx.
 
ARTICLE (WITHOUT DOI)
Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Title of article. Journal Abbreviation. YYYY;Vol(Iss):pg#. URL. Assessed date.
URL MUST BE THE PERMALINK; CONTACT LIBRARIAN FOR HELP
 
ARTICLE (WITHOUT ISSUE NUMBER)
Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. Title of article. Journal Abbreviation. Month YYYY;Vol:pg#.
 
ARTICLE WITH MORE THAN 6 AUTHORS (AUTHOR PATTERN IS THE SAME FOR BOOKS WITH 6 OR MORE AUTHORS)
Author AA, Author BB, Author CC, et al. Title of article. Journal Abbreviation. YYYY;Vol(Iss):pg#. URL.
 
ARTICLE PUBLISHED AHEAD OF PRINT (AVAILABLE ONLY ONLINE) ALSO CALLE E-PUB
Author/s. Article title [published online ahead of print, date].  Abbreviated Journal Name. doi:.
 
WEBSITE
Author/s. Title of specific item cited (or, if unavailable, give the name of the organization responsible for the site). Name of Web Site. URL. Publication date. Updated date.  Accessed date.
PubMed Record Example
EBSCOHost Record Example